Expertises Sectors

Christel Vergauwen

partner

Christel Vergauwen read law at the Catholic University of Leuven, where she obtained her law degree with honours on 9 July 1986. In the academic year that followed, she studied at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville in the United States and obtained a Master of Laws.

Christel began her professional career at GSJ on 1 October 1987 and became the first female partner in 1995. Since then, she has shown tremendous dedication in her work with her clients and has demonstrated a keen understanding not only of the legal aspects of family law but also the human aspects. In 1999, she successfully completed her training as a mediator in family cases. In 2006, she was granted provisional accreditation, and in 2008 she received her final accreditation as a mediator in family cases. Mediation is her passion, and she derives a tremendous sense of satisfaction from finding a solution together with her clients in their interest and in the interest of others, for example their children.

Since 1 October 2010, Christel has been working as an assistant at the Faculty of Law of the University of Antwerp, where she enthusiastically shares her years of experience as a lawyer-mediator in family cases with young undergraduates studying the Law of Persons and Family Law. Together with colleagues in her team, she regularly writes comments on interesting court decisions in the journal Rechtspraak Antwerpen Brussel Gent. She is also a member of the editorial staff of the journal.

Expertises

Teams

Related articles

Expertises Secteurs

Christel Vergauwen

partenaire

Christel Vergauwen a suivi une formation en droit à la KU Leuven et a obtenu son diplôme de licence en droit le 9 juillet 1986, avec distinction. L’année académique suivante, elle a étudié à l’University of Virginia à Charlottesville (États-Unis) où elle a décroché un diplôme de Master of Laws.

Christel a commencé sa carrière professionnelle au cabinet GSJ le 1er octobre 1987 dont elle devint la première femme associée en 1995. Elle se consacre à ses clients avec beaucoup de dévouement, dans le respect des aspects juridiques, mais aussi humains, du droit familial. En 1999, elle clôtura avec succès sa formation de médiateur en matière familiale. En 2006, elle a reçu son agrément provisoire et en 2008, elle a obtenu son agréation définitive de médiateur en matière familiale. La médiation est sa passion et elle lui apporte beaucoup de satisfaction lorsqu’elle aboutit à une solution avec ses clients, dans leur intérêt et dans l’intérêt de leurs enfants éventuels.

Depuis le 1er octobre 2010, Christel est assistante de pratique à la faculté de droit de l’Université d’Anvers, où elle partage, avec enthousiasme et depuis des années, son expérience d’avocate-médiatrice en matière familiale avec de jeunes étudiants du collège pratique Droit des personnes et droit familial. Avec les collègues de son groupe de travail, elle rédige régulièrement des notes sur des décisions judiciaires intéressantes dans le journal Rechtspraak Antwerpen Brussel Gent, dont elle fait aussi partie du comité de rédaction.

Expertises

Groupes de travail