Expertises Sectors

Expertise

Medical accidents

Accidents will happen, as the saying goes. The medical world is no exception. In spite of the best-laid plans of mice and men, victims of medical errors often face enormous difficulties when it comes to asserting their rights, and from another angle "medical liability" is every caregiver's nightmare.

It is against this background that on 31 March 2010 the legislator set up the Fund for Medical Accidents (in Dutch, the Fonds voor Medische Ongevallen, or FMO). The aim of this initiative was to ensure that victims applying for compensation would no longer be required to prove in every case that the healthcare provider had committed a medical error. The problem was not only that this placed a heavy burden of proof on the victim, but also that this approach was not always good for caregivers either, as more often than not they were left stigmatised.

It is for this reason that a "no fault" arrangement was introduced. The system is referred to by the Dutch abbreviation MOZA (which stands for Medical Accident Without Liability). When this system was introduced, the legislator decided to continue to apply the existing fault-based liability arrangement, which means that in addition to MOZA, the former system referred to as Medical Accident With Liability, or MOMA, continued to exist. As a result, in spite of the stigmatisation that this causes, it is still possible to prosecute caregivers under criminal law for unintentional injuries.

In short, in spite of the introduction of MOZA and the FMO, medical accidents can still raise complex legal issues. It is simply that there are now more options on the table. In principle, a more individual case-by-case approach is now possible. Sounds complicated? It's all in a day’s work for GSJ, and we’ll be with you every step of the way.

GSJ's teams have been closely monitoring these developments for many years. Indeed, when on 6 September 2013 Prof. Dr. Thierry Vansweevelt requested that the University of Antwerp establish the Antwerp Health Law and Ethics Chair (AHLEC), GSJ decided to sponsor the initiative. The purpose of this Chair is to investigate all kinds of potential issues that can arise in the field of health law and health ethics. To this day we have continued to lend our active support to this much-valued initiative. From the very outset Johan Bally and Gert Geerts have been on the steering committee of this prestigious Chair.

This expertise falls within the team

4 team members

Related articles

CONTACT FORM

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* required

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

GSJ can be reached by telephone from Monday to Friday from 8.30 am to 6 pm.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Antwerp

Tel.: +32 (0)3 232 50 60
Fax: +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E-mail: info@gsj.be
Enterprise number: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Parking is available. 

Download the accessibility plan here.

Expertises Secteurs

Expertise

Expertise des accidents médicaux

L’erreur est humaine. Le monde médical ne fait pas exception à cette règle. Affirmer que les victimes d’une erreur médicale éprouvent les plus grandes difficultés pour faire valoir leurs droits revient à énoncer une évidence. Dans le même temps, une procédure en « responsabilité médicale » est plus ou moins le cauchemar de tout praticien.

C’est pourquoi le 31 mars 2010, le législateur a créé un fonds, à savoir le Fonds des accidents médicaux ou, en abrégé, FAM. L’objectif de ce fonds était clairement que les victimes ne doivent plus démontrer, dans toutes les circonstances, l’existence d’une erreur du praticien pour pouvoir obtenir réparation. Non seulement cette charge de la preuve était très lourde pour la victime, mais cette approche était également indésirable pour le praticien. Elle était ressentie comme excessivement culpabilisante.

C’est pourquoi un système « no fault » a été créé. C’est ce que l’on appelle l’accident médical sans responsabilité, entre temps bien connu sous l’abréviation AMSR. Dans le même temps, le législateur a toutefois opté pour le maintien du système de responsabilité pour faute. Outre l’AMSR, l’Accident médical avec responsabilité, ou AMAR, subsiste. La poursuite pénale du praticien pour coups et blessures involontaires est toujours possible, aussi stigmatisante qu’elle soit.

En résumé, l’introduction de l’AMSR et la création du FAM n’ont pas le moins du monde simplifié la problématique des accidents médicaux. Les possibilités sont encore plus vastes. Une approche plus individuelle, adaptée au cas concret est à présent possible, en principe. GSJ se fera un plaisir de vous aider à y voir clair.

Depuis des années, les avocats du cabinet GSJ suivent cette problématique de près. Il n’est dès lors pas étonnant que GSJ avocats se soit directement proposé comme sponsor lorsque le professeur M. Thierry Vansweevelt a créé la prestigieuse chaire AHLEC à l’Université d’Anvers, le 26 septembre 2013, Antwerp Health Law and Ethics Chair. GSJ avocats soutient aujourd’hui encore très activement cette chaire. Me Johan Bally et me Gert Geerts font partie du groupe de pilotage de la chaire depuis sa création. Cette chaire se penche sur tous les problèmes possibles en matière de droit et d’éthique de la santé.

cette expertise relève du groupe de travail

5 membres de l’équipe

INFORMATIONS CONNEXES

formulaire de contact

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* obligatoire

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

Le cabinet est disponible par téléphone du lundi au vendredi inclus, de 8h30 à 18h00.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Anvers

T +32 (0)3 232 50 60
F +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E info@gsj.be
Numéro d’entreprise: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Un parking est prévu.

Téléchargez le plan d'accessibilité ici.