Expertises Sectors
{{selectedDepartment.name}}

Team

Liability, insurance and criminal law

Damage and loss are part of life. Sooner or later everyone will have to deal with it. The issues of liability and insurance quickly arise if you incur any damage or injury. When a person causes damage he can be held “liable” and must pay compensation. An insurer might also be involved. Because serious cases of damage are almost always investigated under criminal law, legal issues are never far away.

It is precisely because different branches of law are intertwined that the settlement of these claims can often raise complex issues and disputes that drag on for years. With our extensive experience, we are only too glad to guide you through this often very confusing jumble of criminal and civil proceedings. Of course, wherever possible GSJ will make every reasonable effort to reach an out-of-court settlement in such cases.

Over the years, GSJ have acquired considerable specialised expertise in assessing serious personal damage and injury. Indeed, the handling of the most diverse and taxing cases of professional liability (the liability of the various construction stakeholders, medical liability, the liability of the lawyer) is day-to-day work for GSJ's team of lawyers.

Thanks to our long-standing experience with the most diverse claims, GSJ can offer unique assistance when it comes to advising insurance companies and their customers (i.e. companies and private individuals) in the areas of risk and policy analysis.

Intermediaries (or brokers) have a key role to play in the insurance world. They don’t just sell you an insurance policy. In the event of a claim, they can be the indispensable linchpin between the insurance company and the insured party. And the increasingly complex regulations also have an impact on their professional practices. This is where GSJ’s lawyers can offer clients much-needed support.

GSJ’s teams of lawyers have been actively involved in the insurance sector for many years, in particular in various insurance associations such as the Kempische Verzekeringskring, the Verzekeringsjuristen and the Antwerpse Kring van het Verzekeringswezen. On 26 September 2014, the Antwerp Liability Law and Insurance Chair (ALLIC) was established in the University of Antwerp. This Chair is an initiative of Prof. Dr. Thierry Vansweevelt and Prof. Dr. Britt Weyts. GSJ have agreed to sponsor the Chair and are in fact on the steering committee. In addition, our team members have been invited to the University as guest speakers.

6 team members

CONTACT FORM

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* required

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact <a href='mailto:info@gsj.be'>us</a>

CONTACT

GSJ can be reached by telephone from Monday to Friday from 8.30 am to 6 pm.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Antwerp

Tel.: +32 (0)3 232 50 60
Fax: +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E-mail: info@gsj.be
Enterprise number: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Parking is available. 

Download the accessibility plan here.

Expertises Secteurs
{{selectedDepartment.name}}

Groupe de travail

Droit de la responsabilité, droit des assurances et droit pénal

Les sinistres et les pertes font partie de notre vie. Nous y sommes tous confrontés un jour ou l’autre. Lorsque vous subissez un sinistre, les questions de la responsabilité et de l’assurance sont vite soulevées. Toute personne qui provoque un dommage peut en être tenue « responsable » et elle doit l’indemniser. L’intervention d’un assureur peut également être sollicitée. Dans la mesure où les dommages graves font presque systématiquement l’objet d’une enquête pénale, le droit pénal n’est jamais loin.

Le chevauchement de plusieurs jurisprudences soulève souvent des questions complexes et fait durer ces dossiers pendant des années. Grâce à notre vaste expérience, nous vous guiderons avec plaisir dans de dédale de procédures pénales et civiles. GSJ fera cependant ce qui est en son pouvoir pour régler ces affaires en dehors des tribunaux.

Au fil des ans, GSJ a acquis une expertise spécifique dans l’évaluation des graves dommages humains. Le traitement des cas les plus variés de responsabilité professionnelle (responsabilité des divers acteurs de la construction, responsabilité médicale et des avocats) fait également partie des compétences des avocats de GSJ.

C’est précisément grâce à sa vaste expérience dans le traitement des sinistres les plus divers que GSJ maîtrise tout particulièrement les conseils aux compagnies d’assurance et aux assurés (entreprises et particuliers) dans l’analyse des risques et des polices.

Les courtiers occupent aussi une place particulière dans le monde de l’assurance. Ils fournissent la police à l’assuré et, en cas de sinistre, ils sont un maillon essentiel entre la compagnie d’assurance et l’assuré. La réglementation toujours plus complexe a, elle aussi, une incidence sur l’exercice de leur profession et GSJ Avocats vous aidera en la matière.

Depuis des années, GSJ Avocats joue aussi un rôle déterminant dans le monde des assurances. Ses avocats participent activement à diverses associations d’assurances, par exemple Kempische Verzekeringskring, Verzekeringsjuristen et Antwerpse Kring van het Verzekeringswezen. Le 26 septembre 2014, l’ALLIC a été créée à l’Université d’Anvers, Antwerp Liability Law and Insurance Chair. Cette chaire consacrée au droit de la responsabilité et de l’assurance est une initiative du prof. dr. Thierry Vansweevelt et du prof. dr. Britt Weyts. GSJ Avocats sponsorise la chaire, ses avocats font partie de son groupe de pilotage et ils interviennent en qualité professeurs invités.

6 membres de l’équipe

formulaire de contact

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* obligatoire

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

Le cabinet est disponible par téléphone du lundi au vendredi inclus, de 8h30 à 18h00.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Anvers

T +32 (0)3 232 50 60
F +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E info@gsj.be
Numéro d’entreprise: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Un parking est prévu.

Téléchargez le plan d'accessibilité ici.