Expertises Sectors

Expertise

Apartment law and (co-)ownership law

Apartment law

In Belgium, an estimated 3.5 million people (one third of the population) live in an apartment building. Co-ownership is not always easy, and property management disputes can be a drain on your energy and resources.

This way of sharing living space is increasingly regulated by law. In fact, in the past ten years the apartment law has been totally revised at least twice.

Given this intensity of legal intervention, specialised knowledge of apartment law is an essential element of the management of co-ownership. Contrary to what the term suggests, apartment law also applies to co-owned business parks, office buildings, recreation areas, etc.

GSJ assist professional property managing agents with their day-to-day work, helping them put complex legislation into practice.

In addition, GSJ’s teams offer assistance to individual owners who are looking for efficient ways to protect their private property within co-ownership arrangements. For example, GSJ can assist or represent co-owners at general meetings and when necessary institute legal proceedings (inter alia, to overturn decisions of the general meeting, to arrange for a provisional or court-appointed managing agent, a provisional administrator, etc.).

Finally, GSJ can offer assistance in the drafting of articles of association that are tailored to projects, of course taking into account the legal restrictions.

When called upon to assist a client, GSJ will at all times offer advice in such a way that the client can decide with sufficient knowledge of his rights and obligations whether or not to take further legal action with a view to settling a specific dispute.

Ownership and co-ownership rights

In Belgium, the right of ownership is still regarded as inviolable. However, it is not an absolute right, as it is subject to an important limitation in the form of the rights of neighbouring owners. In this regard, a balance must be struck between your rights and your neighbour's rights. In some cases, this balance can be restored only through neighbour nuisance litigation. In addition, binding regulations can conflict with property rights. For example, there are rules governing party walls, lights and views and the distance from plantations (the Rural Code). GSJ’s teams are happy to assist owners who are involved in property disputes in the broadest sense of the term (property claims, demarcation of property, the statute of limitations, etc.).

This expertise falls within the team

9 team members

Related articles

CONTACT FORM

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* required

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

GSJ can be reached by telephone from Monday to Friday from 8.30 am to 6 pm.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Antwerp

Tel.: +32 (0)3 232 50 60
Fax: +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E-mail: info@gsj.be
Enterprise number: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Parking is available. 

Download the accessibility plan here.

Expertises Secteurs

Expertise

Droit des appartements et droit de (co)propriété

Droit des appartements

L’on estime que 3,5 millions de résidents belges vivent dans des immeubles à appartements (soit 1/3 de la population belge). Il n’est pas toujours évident de vivre en copropriété. Les litiges relatifs à la gestion sont une menace permanente pour tout immeuble.

Cette forme de cohabitation est de plus en plus largement régie par la loi. La loi sur les appartements a en effet été revue en profondeur à deux reprises au cours des dix dernières années.

Cette intervention législative a rendu une connaissance approfondie de cette loi sur les appartements indispensable à la bonne gestion de la copropriété. Contrairement à ce que son nom laisse à penser, cette loi sur les appartements s’applique également aux terrains d’entreprise en copropriété, aux immeubles de bureau, aux domaines récréatifs, etc.

GSJ assiste les syndics professionnels dans leurs tâches quotidiennes qui consistent à appliquer cette législation complexe dans la pratique.

GSJ assiste également les propriétaires individuels qui souhaitent protéger leur propriété privée au sein de la copropriété. Ainsi, GSJ peut assister ou représenter les copropriétaires lors de l’assemblée générale et, si nécessaire, il peut lancer une procédure judiciaire (notamment pour faire annuler des décisions de l’assemblée générale, pour obtenir la désignation d’un syndic provisoire ou judiciaire ou d’un administrateur provisoire, etc.).

Enfin, GSJ vous aide dans la rédaction de statuts adaptés au projet, dans le respect des limitations légales, bien entendu.

Les interventions de GSJ visent toujours à conseiller le client de façon à ce qu’il puisse décider, en toute connaissance de ses droits et devoirs, si une procédure judiciaire éventuelle est souhaitable dans le litige qui le concerne concrètement.

Le droit de la (co)propriété

En Belgique, le droit de la propriété est toujours considéré comme un droit inaliénable. Ce n’est pourtant pas un droit absolu. Il est en effet limité par les droits des propriétaires voisins. Les voisins se doivent de respecter l’équilibre entre leurs propriétés. Parfois, cet équilibre ne peut être restauré que par des différends concernant des troubles de voisinage. La législation contraignante peut également chevaucher le droit de la propriété : ainsi, il existe des règles relatives aux murs mitoyens, les jours et vues et la distance de plantation (Code rural). GSJ assiste les propriétaires dans tout litige lié à la propriété, au sens le plus étendu (action pétitoire, bornage, prescription, etc.).

cette expertise relève du groupe de travail

9 membres de l’équipe

INFORMATIONS CONNEXES

formulaire de contact

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* obligatoire

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

Le cabinet est disponible par téléphone du lundi au vendredi inclus, de 8h30 à 18h00.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Anvers

T +32 (0)3 232 50 60
F +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E info@gsj.be
Numéro d’entreprise: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Un parking est prévu.

Téléchargez le plan d'accessibilité ici.