Expertises Sectors

Expertise

Liability and insurance

Damage to property and personal injury are unpleasant topics, but ultimately the problems they cause are part and parcel of life. We all face trials and tribulations sooner or later. Of course, when bad things happen the issue of liability may be involved. Inevitably, the party who is found to be responsible for causing damage or injury must provide some form of compensation.

The legal implications of claims are the speciality of our liability and insurance law team. GSJ's lawyers are called upon to handle numerous cases that often involve issues connected with professional responsibility and liability in the event of accidents.

Our team has acquired valuable expertise in the assessment of personal injury, which is a complex area that requires a very specific kind of know-how. In particular, any estimates must carefully take into account what the life of an accident victim might have been like if the accident had not happened. The difference between that calculation and the existing situation is the benchmark when it comes to assessing the damage.

Many risks are insured. In the case of an insured claim, the insurer will pay compensation under certain conditions.

There are many different kinds of insurance policies: non-life insurance, liability insurance, legal assistance insurance, life insurance, etc. Each of these different types of insurance has specific characteristics and legal arrangements. Insurance law is becoming more and more complex, and insurance policies are increasingly being drawn into the legal sphere. In this sometimes bewildering field, GSJ’s teams can offer assistance both to insurance companies and to their customers (i.e. companies and private individuals), not only in the context of disputes, but also in the area of risk and policy analysis.

Intermediaries (or brokers) have a key role to play in the insurance world. They don’t just sell you an insurance policy. In the event of a claim, they can be the indispensable linchpin between the insurance company and the insured party. And the increasingly complex regulations also have an impact on their professional practices. This is where GSJ can offer much-needed support.

GSJ’s teams of lawyers are also actively involved in various insurance associations, such as the Kempische Verzekeringskring, the Verzekeringsjuristen and the Antwerpse Kring van het Verzekeringswezen.

On 26 September 2014, the Antwerp Liability Law and Insurance Chair (ALLIC) was established in the University of Antwerp. This Chair is an initiative of Prof. Dr. Thierry Vansweevelt and Prof. Dr. Britt Weyts. GSJ have agreed to sponsor the Chair and are in fact on the steering committee.

This expertise falls within the team

6 team members

Related articles

CONTACT FORM

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* required

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

GSJ can be reached by telephone from Monday to Friday from 8.30 am to 6 pm.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Antwerp

Tel.: +32 (0)3 232 50 60
Fax: +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E-mail: info@gsj.be
Enterprise number: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Parking is available. 

Download the accessibility plan here.

Expertises Secteurs

Expertise

Responsabilité et assurances

Les sinistres et les pertes font partie de notre vie. Nous y sommes tous confrontés un jour ou l’autre. Lorsqu’un sinistre se produit, la question de la responsabilité est automatiquement soulevée. Toute personne jugée responsable d’un sinistre doit l’indemniser.

Les implications juridiques des sinistres sont le terrain d’action du groupe de travail droit de la responsabilité et des assurances. Les avocats du cabinet GSJ traitent de nombreux dossiers relatifs à la responsabilité professionnelle et la responsabilité en cas d’accident.

Notre groupe de travail a développé une expertise en matière d’estimation et de motivation des dommages humains, matière complexe qui requiert des connaissances spécifiques. Il convient dans ce cas d’évaluer aussi correctement que possible comment la situation de vie de la victime d’un accident évoluerait si l’accident n’avait pas eu lieu. La différence avec la situation existante est la mesure utilisée pour calculer et motiver le dommage subi.

De nombreux risques sont assurés. Si le sinistre est assuré, l’assureur l’indemnisera moyennant certaines conditions.

Il existe divers types d’assurances : assurances non-vie, assurances en matière de responsabilités, assurances protection juridique, assurances-vie, etc. Chacune de ces assurances présente des caractéristiques et un régime juridique qui lui sont propres. Le droit des assurances devient de plus en plus complexe et les assurances sont sans cesse plus largement intégrées dans la sphère juridique. GSJ Avocats assiste les compagnies d’assurance, ainsi que les entreprises et les particuliers assurés, non seulement en cas de litige, mais aussi pour l’analyse des risques et des polices.

Les intermédiaires (les courtiers) occupent aussi une place particulière dans le monde de l’assurance. Ils fournissent la police à l’assuré et, en cas de sinistre, ils sont un maillon essentiel entre la compagnie d’assurance et l’assuré. La réglementation toujours plus complexe a, elle aussi, une incidence sur l’exercice de leur profession et GSJ Avocats est à même de les aider en la matière.

GSJ avocats participe également activement à diverses associations d’assurances, par exemple Kempische Verzekeringskring, Verzekeringsjuristen et Antwerpse Kring van het Verzekeringswezen.

Le 26 septembre 2014, l’ALLIC a été créée à l’Université d’Anvers, Antwerp Liability Law and Insurance Chair. Cette chaire consacrée au droit de la responsabilité et de l’assurance est une initiative du prof. dr. Thierry Vansweevelt et du prof. dr. Britt Weyts. GSJ Avocats sponsorise cette chaire et fait partie de son groupe de pilotage.

cette expertise relève du groupe de travail

6 membres de l’équipe

INFORMATIONS CONNEXES

formulaire de contact

{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
{{props.errors[0]}}
* obligatoire

Sent

The form was not sent

Something went wrong. Contact us

CONTACT

Le cabinet est disponible par téléphone du lundi au vendredi inclus, de 8h30 à 18h00.

GSJ advocaten
Borsbeeksebrug 36
2600 Anvers

T +32 (0)3 232 50 60
F +32 (0)3 232 30 50
E info@gsj.be
Numéro d’entreprise: 0442.485.591

PARKING

Un parking est prévu.

Téléchargez le plan d'accessibilité ici.